My Boyfriend’s Book Club (vol. 3 -The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy)

For the third installment of MBfBC, we took a mostly harmless journey into the galaxy with Will’s pick, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. This book has always been on my TBR so I was excited when Will selected it plus I knew I was in for a laugh.

220px-hitchhikerscover

Published: 1979     Pages: 180     Genre: Science Fiction

Drink: We learned a lot from The Guide. For instance, we learned that “the best drink in existence is the Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster. It says that the effect of drinking a Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster is like having your brains smashed out by a slice of lemon wrapped round a large gold brick” (17). So, naturally, Will and I gave them a go.

 

PGGB

Why This?: Will read Hitchhiker’s when he was younger and wanted to give it another go. I remember so many of my classmates reading this is school and I have been meaning to try it ever since.

Shae’s Short Summary: Earth is blown up to create a galactic freeway, Ford Prefect (writer for The Guide) saves Arthur Dent (the last remaining human) and they begin to travel the galaxy and search for the meaning of life. Thanks to many acts of improbability we meet the President of the Galaxy, Zaphod Beeblebrox, Trillian, and their depressed robot Marvin the Paranoid Android.

Shae’s Thoughts     Will’s Thoughts

Favorite Part: Meeting all of the different characters throughout the novel and learning about them. Also that Earth’s entry in The Guide is “mostly harmless.” Petunias and the whale…to best describe this incident, read the following graphic.the_sperm_whale_and_the_bowl_of_petunia_by_pommesdeterre-d5n5mqh

Favorite Character: Zaphod and Ford – they’re quirky and fun. Marvin – so annoying he made the computer commit suicide.

Least Favorite Part: None, it made me want to keep reading. No issues, too short.

Would you recommend? YES! Absolutely, bring a towel.

Real Talk: I could see how HHGTTG would not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it is sooooo amazing. I couldn’t even think of one quote to pull out of the book in fact, my great friends at BookRiot managed to narrow it down to 42 for us :). My favorite from the list is #37 – “Nothing travels faster than the speed of light with the possible exception of bad news, which obeys its own special laws.” Reading HHGTTG made me feel all the feelings and despite being 37 years old, the issues are still relevant. Adams is a hilarious genius that makes the reader escape into a crazy world that, somehow, if you choose to suspend some sense of reality, seems real.  I honestly have no more words to say about the book other than read it and enjoy a nice giggle.

Rating: 8tzke7yrc 5/5

Next Read: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

Ollie Reading

Oliver enjoying HHGTTG

Leave a comment