NerdAlert!: My Favorite Podcasts on Books

One of my favorite websites, BookRiot, recently released a new podcast series, Annotated. This is an “audio-documentary series telling stories about books, reading, and language” and it features BookRiot’s creators, Jeff O’Neal and Rebecca Schinsky. Their first episode was just released and it features George Orwell’s 1984 and just why it would be making it’s recent surge back to the top of the charts (hmm, I wonder.) My favorite feature of this podcast was the attention spent on the history of 1984, a look into George Orwell’s past, and why this novel is popular.

While listening to Annotated I quickly new this would be one of my new favorite podcasts to add to my list. I currently keep up with 41 podcasts that occur either weekly or bi-weekly, some more, some less…yes, I know I have a problem. These 41 podcasts fall into the following categories: sports, books, murder, The Bachelor franchise, or just stuff I like. Since Annotated inspired me, I figured I could focus my efforts on sharing my favorite “Bookcasts.”

1. What Should I Read Next? with Anne Bogel 

WSIRN

Currently on Episode 85

I first found Anne Bogel through her blog Modern Mrs. Darcy a few years ago and last year she started the WSIRN podcast! Anne’s blog focuses on many different categories: House & Home, Beauty & Style, Work & Family, but I went there for her posts on books, reading, and her Kindle newsletter. So when she released WSIRN, I knew it was meant to be and I could skip all of the “Mommy Blogging.”

Each episode of What Should I Read Next? features a guest and follows the same format: the guest tells Anne three books they love, one book they hate, and what they’re reading lately, and Anne gives them three recommendations. I have gotten many great recommendations from this podcast and have even been encouraged to visit a few books on my TBR pile because of the praise they received. Plus, I find Anne’s voice to be so soothing and I leave each podcast wanting to listen to more, so I typically let this one back up a few episodes so I can binge.

What Should I Read Next? iTunes

2. Overdue

Overdue

Currently on Episode 247

If you want to crack up about some of your favorite titles, listen to this podcast.

Each Monday, Craig and Andrew share a book that you either already love or have been meaning to read, and then proceed to poke fun at plot lines. I love this podcast for many reasons, but mainly because their laughs are infectious. Each episode of Overdue tackles a book that “you probably should have read by now” with banter that leaves you feeling like you just spoke with two close friends. I typically skip around the episodes because I either don’t want to ruin a book on my TBR list or I look through the feed of 247 episodes and find one I just cannot miss. Most of the titles they choose are from listener recommendations, so in between episodes on 1984 or Jane Eyre, Craig and Andrew share their thoughts on 50 Shades of Grey and Infinite Jest. 

Overdue iTunes

3. Harry Potter and the Sacred Text

HP

Currently on Book 3, Chapter 14

***I need to note that I love Harry Potter, a lot. Harry Potter was an adventure from 4th grade to my freshman year of college. It is what encouraged me to start branching away from only reading what my mom or brother read, and find my own preference in books. I love Harry Potter so much that I have a tribute to it tattooed on my body, I have a wand, my college dorm room was decked out in HP posters, I named a fish after Mad-Eye Moody, I love HP. LOVE.

I just recently ran across this podcast and I am VERY far behind, but I have loved it so much that it has already made it’s way into my top 5. If this was MySpace, I would have some very jealous friends. Anyways, I found Harry Potter and the Sacred Text while searching through the Religion & Spirituality category in the Podcast App and love the hosts approach to reading Harry Potter. Their tagline is “Reading something we love as if it were sacred.” Every episode is dedicated to a single chapter of the series, hence the episodes not being numbered, and they read each chapter with a theme in mind. I wish I could say more, however I am still so far behind in the podcast that I don’t want to misrepresent what it has become. If you’re an HP fan or if you have never read the series (MOM!) I suggest that you give it a listen, maybe even read along with each episode and your life will be changed.

Harry Potter and the Sacred Text iTunes

Benchwarmer: All the Books!

ATBooks.jpg

Currently on Episode 110

Get ready for your TBR list to grow exponentially. Another offshoot of BookRiot, All the Books! features the Well-Red Heads, Rebecca Schinsky and Liberty Hardy, as they talk about each week’s new releases. Just a fair warning, both of them are cat people…but they’re SO cool! This podcast releases every Tuesday and features new releases. I have to take a break from this podcast every so often because my list of books to get is overwhelming. However, Liberty and Rebecca have great banter, are awesomely nerdy, and show their passion for reading.

**Life goal: be Liberty Hardy.

All The Books! iTunes

Backlist: BookRiot – The Podcast

BRiot

Currently on Episode #215

This is the first book-focused podcast I listened to and it is full of great information. They go beyond books to read and talk about happenings in the world of publishing. BookRiot is my go-to website and they’ve proven themselves to be very reliable. They also have more focused podcasts focusing on Sci-Fi and Fantasy that just released, as well as Read or Dead that focuses on mysteries and thrillers!

BookRiot-The Podcast iTunes

Happy Listening!

Leave a comment